Monthly Archives: November 2016

Cultural Competencies for an aging LGBTQ Population webinar on Tues., Dec. 13 at 12noon CT (11am MT)

Join HRSA for a webinar Tuesday, December 13 at 1pm EDT to discuss the health and social care needs of older adults in the LGBTQ community. They will highlight the special obstacles faced by this population, opportunities to improve cultural competency and best practices to integrate LGBTQ-friendly care into your organization. The webinar should be of interest to HRSA grantees, healthcare providers, public health officials, community-based organizations

Read more
November is Native American and Alaskan Heritage Month

November is Native American and Alaskan Heritage Month and the first month of 2017 open enrollment for health insurance coverage through the Marketplaces. Aptly the theme for heritage month observance is “Serving Our Nations: Health and Wellness Across the Generations.” Read the Presidential Proclamation on Native American Heritage Month and plan an ACA outreach event in your community!  This month’s heritage celebration presents a great opportunity

Read more
OE Snapshot: Over One million Plans Selected in the first 12 days

Today, CMS released the first bi-weekly Marketplace enrollment snapshot showing net plan selections over the first 12 days of Open Enrollment. Over one million plans were selected – representing an increase of 69,000 over last year. “We are all in for this Open Enrollment and excited that over 1 million people have already signed up for 2017 coverage through HealthCare.gov,” said Department of Health and Human Services Secretary Sylvia Burwell.

Read more
Community Health Center Workforce and Staffing Needs

NACHC just released a new snapshot titled Community Health Center Workforce and Staffing Needs. This resource documents health centers' current clinical staffing makeup nationally while summarizing their clinical vacancy experiences as well as the impact of those vacancies. Learn more here. 

Read more
Ask Congress to Support H.R. 5667 to Improve Health Center Participation in ACOs

NACHC is still urging Congress to pass H.R. 5667, a bill that will make it easier for FQHCs to participate in ACOs. Congresswoman Lynn Jenkins (R-KS) and Congresswoman Linda Sanchez (D-CA) recently introduced the bill, called The Rural ACO Provider Equity Act, which would allow FQHCs and rural health clinics to assign their patients to ACOs under the Medicare Shared Savings Program. The Senate has already passed the bill, but we still need to build

Read more
NHSC sponsoring Virtual Job Fair for Rural Sites on Thurs., Nov. 17 from 5:45pm-9:15pm CT (4:45pm-8:15pm MT)

Virtual Job Fair for Rural Sites Thursday, November 17, 2016 6:45 – 10:15 p.m. ET Register Now Join the Virtual Job Fair to connect and network with prospective employers and find job vacancies in all National Health Service Corps (NHSC) and NURSE Corps eligible disciplines from the comfort of your own home. The Virtual Job Fair offers real-time interaction with representatives from NHSC sites and NURSE Corps critical shortage facilities. Don’t

Read more
A Health Disparities Funding Opportunity from March of Dimes

10-rfp-application-packet-rev-june2016_final

Read more
Marketplace Assister Call Lines

Similar to the previous open enrollments, there will once again be a designated call center line for Assisters. This year the line features several enhancements designed to help better streamline the call process. Utilizing the Assister line will only allow Assisters to bypass the regular call center line if they need help with password resets or accessing certain call center-initiated SEPs. This enhancement is designed to help minimize the time

Read more
Marketplaces Information for Immigrant Families webinar on Wed., Nov. 9 at 1pm CT (12noon MT)

Join the CMS National Training Program for the Health Insurance Marketplace Training on Immigrant Families. This webinar will provide information about Health Insurance Marketplaces and eligibility based on immigration status. Topics will include: Marketplace Eligibility & Enrollment Eligible Immigration Statuses and Documentation Marketplace Affordability Resources Date: November 9, 2016 Time: 2:00 – 3:00 pm ET Link: To join the webinar, visit

Read more
2017 Landscape for Marketplace QHP and SADP Plans by County Now Available

Last week, CMS released the Qualified Health Plan (QHP) Landscape for 2017 that displays the available QHPs and Standalone Dental Plans (SADPs) by county in the Health Insurance Marketplace. There are four types of QHP Landscape files available: (1) individual medical marketplace; (2) SHOP medical marketplace; (3) individual dental marketplace; and (4) SHOP dental marketplace. The QHP Landscape provides consumers in the Federally-facilitated Marketplace

Read more